Mid-Week Summary   Leave a comment

This week was relatively slow on the radio so far, and it might continue to be slow.

I tore apart the rig boxes in the Malibu so that I could take my HF radio with me to CA. I brought the Yaesu FT-857D to CA and operated from Cibola, NM and San Diego, CA, where San Diego was a new county for me.

I toyed around with getting my Signalink set up to run from my netbook and work with the FT-857D. No dice. I installed the last free version of Ham Radio Deluxe and connected the data cable, but Ham Radio Deluxe would not connect to the radio. I had almost everything set to “Auto Detect”, and made sure that the Yaesu was set to CAT mode and 4800 bps. Still, no connection. I did not have an audio cable connected, but I figured the software would allow for radio/computer connection.

I need to rebuild the radio boxes with a few longer cables and such before the storm chase season hits. While I have them apart, however, it will be worth it to try to get some of the digital modes before storm chase season.

Unrelated, I returned 10 MRC cards from my January Texas trip. I have about another 10 to do- I’ll finish those later today.

Leave a Reply

