Daytona Beach Station, 2007   Leave a comment

Back in 2007, I attended a conference in Daytona Beach, FL. I was on the 12th floor, or so of my hotel, but I still wanted to make a few contacts on radio, so I had to improvise with my radio station.

I clamped a Hamstick to balcony railing and ran a few ground wires around the room. The radio was a Yaesu FT-857D running 100 watts through an MFJ 949E antenna tuner.

I operated 40 meters at night and made a few ragchew contacts. I think my setup worked just fine, but I really only had small windows of opportunity to play on the radio. Between the night life with my friends and the conference, I only got a few chances on the radio. Even so, it was totally worth it!

Leave a Reply

