My Temporary Ten Meter Station   Leave a comment

I told you I would post pictures of my temporary ten meter mobile station in my car. I have a piece of RG-8X running to a Hamstick on the trunk of the car, and sin of all sins, I have the radio plugged into a cigarette lighter.

(And yes, I know my car is messy!)

I’m pretty confident in the cigarette lighter. Thanks to a roommate dropping a nickel in it- I know it is fused. Also, this radio only runs 25 watts out, and if I do the math:

25 watts = voltage * current
voltage = 12.0 V with the car off
current = 2.08 A

I’m pretty sure the cigarette lighter (used as a cigarette lighter) probably draws more current than this.

Leave a Reply

