NM QSO Party   Leave a comment

This past weekend was the New Mexico QSO Party, where amateur radio operators try to contact as many New Mexico stations as possible.   New Mexican stations get to be the center of a pile up.   

Another neat feature of the contest is that each county in New Mexico worked gets counted as a multiplier for your score.
Because I live in New Mexico, the fun game I chose to play was to travel through as many counties as possible to be that station in the center of the pile ups.   For each county I made 15 contacts from, I get 5000 bonus points.

I have not yet added up my scores.  I have not even cleared my digital recorders, as the first one failed a few hours into the contest.  I will post more information on this blog.

For now, here is the route I drove.  I crossed through 10 counties and traveled just under 700 miles.

image

Leave a Reply

