Daily Radio Report: 5/8/15-5/10/15   Leave a comment

I didn’t play on the radio at all on Friday or Sunday. Saturday, I made a few contacts on the 20 meter SSB county hunting net.

Friday, I dropped off my Yaesu FT-7800 for repair. I was not able to diagnose the problem myself. It would not transmit audio on VHF or UHF, but it would key up the repeater. I swapped mics and transfer cables, and was able to follow the schematic for the most part. However, without an appropriate oscilloscope, I was not finding where the audio was missing. My bet is that one of the connectors is bad- either to the head unit or to the radio itself, where the remote mounting cord plugs in. After that, it could be the final amplifier, as I’ve heard that goes sometimes in this radio as well.

Thank you for reading my post!

Leave a Reply

