Daily Radio Report: 6/19/15   Leave a comment

I am fighting radio gremlins like crazy these days. My Kenwood TS-450S is having receive issues. There are very few signals that I can hear, and they sound similar whether I am in LSB or USB mode. One possibility is a switching diode has gone bad.

At first, I thought there was a problem with my antenna (no doubt, there probably is). I switched to a 20 meter dipole that I have and I still have the same problems. I plugged in headphones, hoping that perhaps it was a problem with the speaker rather than the receiver circuit, but I still had the same problems.

Also, my Alinco DR-135TP is not able to get into the 145.330 MHz machine. I may have a power issue; at best, I can key up the repeater, but no transmit audio is heard. The Albuquerque SCAT Net Controller said he could hear a carrier and nothing else.

I have my work cut out for me!

Leave a Reply

