Amateur Radio This Week: #4   Leave a comment

This week was exciting in my amateur radio experience.  I did not make many contacts; in fact, I only checked into the Albuquerque SCAT Net three times, and the Caravan Club Net once.  I did hear a National Park station on 20 meters, but was unable to break through the pile up.

No, this week was exciting because it is the beginning of the revival of the New Mexico Tech – Tech Amateur Radio Association (TARA) for the semester. First, we began compiling our official documents to get the club running again this semester.  Our president has been on the ball, filing everything that needs to be filed.

To support this new club, I also hosted the first session of an Amateur Radio Licensure course. I haven’t taught the course since 2010 or 2011, but I have ten students in it this semester.  This week discussed, “What is Amateur Radio?” and we walked over to the club station.  I took notes on what worked and what didn’t in the lecture, and will likely include this in an QST article at the end of the class.

Thank you for reading my post.

Leave a Reply

