Amateur Radio This Week: #15   Leave a comment

This week was great. I was planning to run the NM QSO Party from my Crown Victoria, but two days before the contest, someone accidentally broke my antenna off. It broke my 20 meter Hamstick right at the ball mount, meaning that I could not use the ball mount, either. Instead, I took my Ford Ranger with a magnet-mounted 20 meter Hamstick.

The Ranger is electrically quite noisy, so I would pull over in each county and turn off the truck. Because I stopped in each one, I made sure to make at least 15 QSOs, earning me 5000 bonus points for each one. All said and done, I operated like this through eight counties (Sandoval, Santa Fe, San Miguel, Mora, Colfax, Union, Harding and Quay).

I have not transcribed my log yet, nor have I dumped the photos from my camera. I will do this soon, and post the photos here.

Thank you for reading my post.

Leave a Reply

