Amateur Radio Class   Leave a comment

Congratulations to KG5NGM, KG5NGO, KG5NGP, KE0IXA, and KM6CHY, five new technician class amateur radio operators from my radio class!!

I have quite a few changes I would like to make for next year’s class. I will have to sit down and rewrite quite a bit, as well as add more hands-on activities. They liked soldering the radio together, though we never found headphones that worked for it.

Outside of the licensing, I checked into the Albuquerque Caravan Club once. That was about all I’ve done radio-wise.

In terms of station set up, I replaced the ball mount on my Crown Vic in preparation for storm chasing. Unfortunately, my Yaesu FT-857D has a broken select knob and it has damaged the display. It must have gotten jammed by something in the truck when I was driving around. Anyway, the end result is that the display works, the VFO knob works, the volume knob, and the power button works. No other button or knob functions correctly. I will take a look at it in more detail sometime soon, but I may (once again) resort to the Kenwood TS-130S for storm chasing this year.

Thank you for reading my post.

Leave a Reply

