Amateur Radio This Week: #28   Leave a comment

I’m the mobile NM QSO Party Champion this year, so I’m just doing champion things, like posting this link:  NM QSO Party Results.   Go me!  (I’m not actually this big of a jerk, I just play one online).

I took a trip down to the Pacific Northwest, and have been spending time in Seattle.  I have been dealing with all sorts of RF problems (as mentioned before), so I have not been on the air.

Today, I took a trip to the Ham Radio Outlet in Portland, OR, and picked up a vertical ground radial kit for my vertical antenna at home.  I also picked up a thick grounding strap in hopes of providing a better grounding strap for the magnet mount on the van.  I ran the ground strap from the ring where the shield of the coax is connected to the magnet to a screw in the driver’s door.  So far, it appears all that has happened is that my antenna is now deaf.  I’ll have to look into this some more.

I used my ARRL Birthday coupon to buy a Field Day 2016 patch and a pin.  I think I paid $1 all said and done, so I am pleased.

I also finished out my NM QSO Party logbook entries- they are all logged in DX4Win.  I still have a handful of contacts on a digital recorder that happened post-NM QSO Party that need to be logged.

Thank you for reading my post.

Leave a Reply

