Amateur Radio This Week: 2017.2   Leave a comment

This week in amateur radio, I checked into several local VHF nets here in New Mexico.  On Sunday night, I checked into the Caravan Club Net, and then today, I checked into the Albuquerque SCAT Net and then the Rusty Raider’s Net.

I also spent some time listening on 10 meters, as two stations were ragchewing, and I could copy them.  They were, however, the only stations I could hear on the band.

I also read the January, 2017, issue of QST.  I always get mixed feelings when I read the Do-It-Yourself (DIY) issue.  On one hand, I am always inspired by all the neat projects, and I want to work on all of them…but on the other hand, most of them are well above my skill level.  Case in point- I have a vertical antenna in my yard that doesn’t work very well, and I haven’t fixed it.

I did order a transmission hump mount for the Crown Victoria.  I’ll see how that works out.  I need a better system than wedging radios between the seat and the transmission tunnel, and this is worth a shot.

I also received a QSL envelope from the ARRL QSL Bureau.  Mostly, it contained QSL cards from the W1AW/# event in 2014, but there were a few Japanese and Canadian cards in there as well.

Thank you for reading my post.

 

Leave a Reply

