This Week in Amateur Radio: 2017.5   Leave a comment

This week has been about preparing for my Amateur Radio class.  I have been looking over my lecture notes and importing test questions into Canvas (the academic software package we use at New Mexico Tech) in preparation.

Outside of the classwork, I checked into the Albuquerque SCAT Net and Rusty Raider’s Net several times over the past week, as well as the Caravan Club once.  Sunday evening, I also listened in to the Amateur Radio Newsline broadcast.

I did have a little trouble with the Caravan Club Net, as my radio kept powering down.  I increased the voltage output and the problem went away.  I will probably need to check all of my antenna connections and see if I can figure out why I have so many antenna problems.

I also figured out how to unlock the Kenwood 707 that has been in my truck.  I accidentally locked the radio on 145.520 MHz.  I was able to unlock it and program the 145.330 MHz Albuquerque repeater into a memory channel.

The Tech Amateur Radio Association (TARA) went to the Winter Tailgate, selling some equipment and buying some other stuff as well.  The dust hasn’t settled yet, but the club members seem happy with their weekend.

Thank you for reading my post.

Leave a Reply

