This Week In Amateur Radio: 2017.6   Leave a comment

I couldn’t figure out why I had not received my latest QST.  I was going through some paperwork on my desk, only to find that I had not renewed my membership to the American Radio Relay League (ARRL), which explains why the February QST had not arrived.  I renewed my membership this week.

In terms of operating activities, I checked into several local 2 meters nets, including the Caravan Club, Albuquerque SCAT Net, and Rusty Raider’s Net, multiple times from multiple radios.

I have also been tracing the coax that runs through my backyard and removing broken pieces from past antenna projects.  I really want to make sure I have the correct coax connected to the correct radio.

The paperwork has been submitted for the Tech Amateur Radio Association (TARA), and we are waiting to hear our club status and how much funding we will receive.  I am also looking into what is required to have us put up a dipole antenna for the School Club Roundup contest next week.

The amateur radio licensing course is going well.  This week, we started building a 40 meter QRP radio.  I will let you know how that goes as we build it.  Last night, we put all of the capacitors in place, an all of my students are comfortable soldiering.

This week, I have quite a few radio-related projects planned, so I will let you know how they go in 2017.7.

Thank you for reading my post.

Leave a Reply

