This Week in Amateur Radio: 2017.9   Leave a comment

This week, I was particularly active in amateur radio.  I spent time operating on 20 meter HF almost anytime I commuted.    Of these, I worked St. Helena Island (ZD7VC), The USS Iowa (NI6BB), a station in the SC QSO Party, and several of the Canadian special event stations.

In addition to the HF QSOs, I checked into the Caravan Club twice.

The highlight, however, was the New Mexico TechFest, which is a series of amatuer radio technical talks.  This year’s topics included radio direction finding, homebrewing, WSJT, tropospheric ducting, digitial mobile radio,  and NVIS antennas.  I took notes, and, while much of the discussion was above my head, I was able to extract a lot from the talks, and look forward to attending next year’s session as well.

I taught another section of my amateur radio license class this past Monday, covering operating modes and how a radio signals are generated, at least at the technician class level.

This evening, I updated my amateur radio logbooks, and will hopefully update my DX4Win logs in the near future.

Overall, it has been a busy week.

Thank you for reading my post.

Leave a Reply

