This Week in Amateur Radio: 2017.10   Leave a comment

This weekend, I was active on 20 meters during the ARRL DX Contest.  I haven’t added up all of my scores yet, or even tallied the number of contacts, but I made quite a few in the Caribbean.  I know I worked Brazil, Aruba, Netherlands Antilles, Jamaica, Costa Rica, Columbia, US Virgin Islands, and Hawaii, and there were likely others.

I checked into a Bible study on 20 meters this morning as well.

This weekend was the Adventist Radio Association contest, though I heard no stations participating.

I was not as active on VHF/UHF over this past week.  I left my HT in a lab (I was using the receiver to see if our ultrasonic equipment was switching “on”).  I also messed up the repeater programming on the Icom IC-2100H, which lives in the Malibu.

Also, March 1 marked 25 years of amateur radio for me.  I was licensed on 3/1/92, at the age of 10 years old.  I passed the Novice class license exam and the 5 WPM Morse code exam, earning the call KA3ZWS.  A month later, I earned my Technician class license, and traded in my callsign for N3MRA, which I still use to this day.

Thank you for reading my post.

Leave a Reply

