This Week in Amateur Radio: 2017.15   2 comments

This week has been unfortunately quiet on the radio for me.  I checked into the Albuqeurque SCAT Net once or twice on the UHF side.

The big disappointment was the NM QSO Party.  I had big plans to drive all over New Mexico and give out counties.  Instead, I never left Sandoval County.  I started out on 20 meters and did not hear a peep.  I suspected my antenna (there is a problem with the Hamstick I was using).  I switched to 40 meters and made a few contacts.  In almost two hours, I only made seven contacts, several of which were other NM stations that I was working on groundwave (Sandoval and Bernalillo Counties).  I did hear one of my contesting friends and he told me that 20 was totally dead in CA as well.  I guess conditions were just bad. I would call CQ for 15 minutes straight and get one response.

With so few contacts, and needing 15 per county for them to count, and finding out that my hours at work will be cut soon, I opted to not burn the gas and travel for the less-than-lucrative day.  I am sorry for anyone that was counting on me for those counties, but I simply wasn’t hearing many stations at all.

On Monday, my amateur radio license class finsihed constructing a 40 meter CW transceiver.  We were able to hear static, but weren’t able to hear any signals on 7.023 MHz.  I will set up a better test next week.

Thank you for reading my post.

2 responses to “This Week in Amateur Radio: 2017.15

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m pretty much restricted to VHF/UHF – here I am an Extra and no HF capability. Wait, not so fast I do have to assemble my Pixie 40m CW transceiver.

Leave a Reply

