Amateur Radio This Week: 2017.28   Leave a comment

I received my Yaesu FT-857D back from repair.  I have plugged it into my home antenna station, and there is still a ton of noise.  However, I am having all sorts of base antenna problems, so that is not really an indication of a problem.  The real test will be when I plug it into my car.  Right now, the borrowed 857 is running S7 to S8 noise, with no filters.  If mine is still running S9+20dB, with or without filters, I’m going to send it back.

Other than that, I’ve been working through my stack of QSL cards.  I have quite a few still to go.  I did log all of my W1AW QSL cards from 2014, back when they did a number of special event stations to commemorate 100 years of the American Radio Relay League (ARRL).  I wish I had participated in this event a little more, as I was missing quite a few states.  However, I was having problems with my 857 back then as well.

This week, I’ll test the 857, return a few direct DX cards, send a few more DX enveloped to the bureau, and return the rest of the SASE’D QSL/MRCs that are sitting on my desk.

I have my work cut out for me!

Thank you for reading my post.

 

Leave a Reply

